Mike Ocquaye, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, 4 others picked to lead NPP in Parliament

The New Patriotic Party (NPP), has retained Professor Mike Aaron Ocquaye to serve as Ghana’s Speaker of Parliament for another four years.

General Secretary of the party, John Boadu made this known after a National Executive Council (NEC) meeting.

Prof Ocquaye has served in such capacity since January 7, 2017.

The former two-term Dome-Kwabenya MP served as the Second Deputy Speaker of Ghana’s Parliament between 2009 and 2013.

Other parliamentary positions

The National Council of the NPP has also opted to maintain Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, the Suame MP, as its Leader in Parliament.

It has also endorsed the change in deputy from Sarah Adwoa Safo, the Dome-Kwabenya MP, to Alex Afenyo-Markin, the Effutu MP.

The Chief Whip slot has been earmarked for Frank Annoh Dompreh, the Nsawam-Adoagyiri MP after being held by Kwasi Ameyaw-Cheremeh, the Sunyani East MP.

Mr Dompreh’s deputies will be the Tolon MP, Habib Iddrisu and the Ayawaso West-WuogoTalon Lydia Alhassan after Matthew Nyindam, the Kpandai MP and Moses Anim, the Trobu MP held those positions in the current Parliament.

Lydia Alhassan replaces Ophelia Hayford, the Mfantseman MP who was earlier proposed as one of the Deputy Whips.

Ghana was left with hung Parliament after the 2020 polls with the NPP and National Democratic Congress 137 seats apiece in Parliament.

The two parties were joined by an independent candidate, Andrew Amoako Asiamah, who won the Fomena seat.

Mr Asiamah has said he will join the NPP to form Majority in Parliament despite being kicked out of the party because he decided to run as an independent candidate.

There are also question marks over whether the NPP could end up with the Majority.

An interim injunction was granted restraining the Electoral Commission from gazetting the NPP’s John Peter Amewu as the MP for Hohoe following a lawsuit by residents in the Guan District who were not allowed to vote in the December 7 allowed.

Eligible voters within areas in the newly created district, namely Santrokofi, Akpafu, Likpe, and Lolobi, were only allowed to take part in the presidential election on December 7, 2020.

The case will be settled tomorrow after the State challenged the order of the Ho High Court granting the injunction saying that the court could not hear the case.

Newly elected Members of Parliament are currently taking turns to register in Parliament.

Source: Saltfmonline with files from CNR

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button