Election 2020

Election Petition: Akufo-Addo names Oppong Nkrumah, Buabeng Asamoa as his spokesperson

Former Minister for Information Kojo Oppong Nkrumah and the National Communications Director of the NPP, Yaw Buaben Asamoa have been named along with three others to act as spokespersons for President Akufo-Addo in his Election Petition case.

This was made known by the legal team of President Akufo-Addo who have already urged the Supreme Court to dismiss Mahama’s suit.

The NDC leader is in the Apex Court asking that it annul the election results that saw Akufo-Addo declared president.

In a statement signed by Frank Davies, Head, Legal Directorate for the President mentioned Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Member of Parliament, Ofoase Ayirebi, Yaw Buaben Asamoa, National Communications Director, NPP as part of the spokespersons.

Others are Henry Nana Boakye, National Youth Organizer, NPP, Fati Abubakar – Deputy Communications Director, Presidency and Nana Adjoa Adobea Asante – Legal Committee Member as spokespersons.

The statement urged the media to contact the above persons for all informations concerning the petition.


The President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has through his Lawyers filed an Answer to the 2020 Presidential Elections Petition initiated by Mr. John Dramani Mahama, a candidate in that election.

President Akufo-Addo in his Answer has provided the court with pleadings that showcase that Mr Mahama’s petition lacks material substance. Mr President has further invited the Supreme court to determine that “the petition is incompetent, frivolous and vexatious, does not meet the threshold for invoking the jurisdiction of the Honorable Court and should therefore be dismissed.”

The President’s legal team has designated the following persons to speak to the media.

  1. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah Esq – MP, Ofoase Ayirebi
  2. Yaw Buaben Asamoa Esq- National Communications Director, NPP
  3. Henry Nana Boakye Esq- National Youth Organizer, NPP
  4. Fati Abubakar – Deputy Communications Director, Presidency
  5. Nana Adjoa Adobea Asante – Legal Committee Member

Thank you

Frank Davies ESQ
Head, Legal Directorate

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button