FeaturedGhana NewsNews

Election 2020: CPP retains Ivor Greenstreet as flagbearer

The Convention People’s Party (CPP) has retained Ivor Kobina Greenstreet as its flagbearer ahead of the 2020 elections.

The party held a national delegates congress held in the Eastern Region on Saturday, August 22 and Ivor Greenstreet won 213 of the total valid votes cast against Bright Akwetey and Divine Ayivor who polled 27 and 14 of the total valid votes cast respectively.

The CPP also elected a new national executive which will take up the mantle of the party’s leadership.

Nana Akosua Frimpomaa Kumakuma, who was the 2012 running-mate of the then CPP flagbearer Dr Abu Sakara Foster, was elected National Chairperson.

Nana Yaa Akyimpim Jantuah, former Public Affairs Director of the Public Utilities Regulatory Commission (PURC), was elected General Secretary with 187 votes against acting General Secretary James Kwabena Bomfeh popularly known as Kabila who polled 67 votes.

Emmanuel Ogbojor won 125 votes to become Vice Chairman of the party against Onsy Kwame Nkrumah, self-acclaimed son of CPP’s founder Kwame Nkrumah who polled 84 votes.

Find below the final results from the CPP National Delegates Congress:


Bright Akwetey -27
Dr.Prof.Divine Ayivor -14
Ivor Kobina Greenstreet -213

National Executives
National Chairman

Hajia Hamdatu -73
Nana Bright Oduro -68
Kwaku Ankrah Quansah-9
Nana Akosua Frimpomaa Kumakuma-100
Rejected -5

National Vice Chairman

Onzy Kwame Nkrumah -84
Emmanuel Ogbojor -125
John Benjamin Davids-39
Rejected -7

General Secretary

Nana Yaa Akyimpim Jantuah -187
James Kabila Kwabena Bomfeh -67
Rejected -1

National Woman Org.

Hajia Aisha Sulley -129
Rose Austin Tenadu -122
Rejected -4

National Organizer

Moses Ambing Yirimbo -179
Rashid Alao -76

National Youth Organizer

Osei Kofi Aquah -168
Solomon Duncan -80
Rejected -6


Emmanuel Opare Oduro -169
Edwina Okuadjo Ayorkor -79
Rejected -7

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button