Africa NewsGhana News

13 African presidents have confirmed they’ll attend Akufo-Addo’s swearing-in

Presidents from thirteen African countries have confirmed that they will be in attendance at the swearing-in ceremony of President-elect, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo and the Vice President-elect Mahamudu Bawumia on Thursday, January 7, 2021.

This was made known by Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration and Head of the Inauguration Committee at a presser in Accra on Tuesday. 

The thirteen who have so far confirmed they will be in attendance include the President of Senegal, Macky Sall, President of Liberia, George Weah, and the President of Côte d’Ivoire, Alassane Ouattara.

She said other countries including Nigeria, Gambia, India, and France would be represented by their Foreign Ministers at the ceremony which starts at 11 am on Thursday.

“So far we have several Heads of States and governments who have accepted or who are going to be part of the ceremony,” Madam Botchwey said.

“Senegal, Côte d’Ivoire, Burkina Faso, Mali, Chad, Angola, Equatorial Guinea, Sierra Leone, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Guinea, Togo, Niger, and the other countries that will be represented, such as the Gambia and Nigeria by the Foreign Ministers.”

“We’ll have the Foreign Minister of India, the Foreign Minister of France, Foreign Minister of Rwanda, Foreign Minister of Gabon, we also have the Attorney General and Minister of Justice of the Gambia, we have the UK Minister for Africa. We have the US Special Envoy for the Sahel, of course, we have the President of ECOWA Commission, and we also have the Chairperson of the AU Commission. We have representatives of the Conservative Party from the United Kingdom, and we have representatives of the CDU and allied parties from Germany, so far these are the confirmations we have”.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button